Legal Development in Nepal

Sharma to head CA court

Posted in Blogging News, Court, From, Judges, Justices, Law of Courts, Legal News, Recent News, Tribunal by nepaleselaw on February 3, 2008

This is a bit old news that we failed to publish earlier. Kantipur reports here that Justice Anup Raj Sharma will head the Constituent Assembly Election Court. This court is being created under Interim Constitution of Nepal and the jurisdiction of this court will be to hear any matters in relation to disputes that may arise in Constituent Assembly Election. We will be publishing the power and jurisdiction of CA Court in our another post and also about Justice Sharma.


The Judicial Council (JC) on Sunday recommended the government to appoint Supreme Court (SC) Justice Anup Raj Sharma as the chairman of the Constituent Assembly Court.
Similarly, JC recommended the name of Supreme Court Justices Tap Bahadur Magar and Ram Kumar Prasad Sah as the members of the court, according to JC Spokesperson Nahakul Subedi.

A meeting of JC headed by Chief Justice Kedar Prasad Giri took the decision on Sunday after the government requested the JC to recommend the judges for the court. The government told the JC that it is going to announce the inception of the court soon.

The Interim Constitution has provisioned that there will be a separate court to take up cases and crimes relating to the election to the Constituent Assembly.

Similarly, the JC has recommended the government to appoint Subedi, joint secretary at JC, as the registrar of the court.

In the meantime, the JC meeting also decided to allow the Election Commission (EC) to deploy 95 district judges, including 20 additional district judges, as the chief election officers across the country, according to Subedi. Likewise, a meeting of the Judicial Service Commission decided to allow the EC to use 240 officials under the judicial service in the upcoming election.


One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] on February 11, 2008 by nepaleselaw Nepalnews reports here that CA Court has been established. In our earlier post, we had told you that CA Court will be headed by Hon’ble justice Anup Raj Sharma of Supreme […]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: